Welcome to The Senate Site

Tuesday, March 07, 2006

Election Year

"People often say that, in a democracy, decisions are made by a majority of the people. Of course, that is not true. Decisions are made by a majority of those who make themselves heard and who vote - a very different thing." - Walter H. Judd

"To make democracy work, we must be a nation of participants, not simply observers." - Louis L'Amour
Eight months from today, Utah voters will fill sixteen of our 29 senate offices. Eleven current state senators will seek re-election. Five will not.

[Note: This list was updated throughout the filing season. The list you see now is final.]

Seeking Re-election:
Scott McCoy – District 2

Gene Davis – District 3

Ed Mayne – District 5

Howard Stephenson – District 11

Brent Goodfellow – District 12

Parley Hellewell – District 15

Pete Knudson – District 17

Dave Thomas – District 18

Sheldon Killpack – District 21

Greg Bell – District 22

Darin Peterson - District 24

Retiring from Senate service at the end of this year:
Patrice Arent – District 4 - read the press release

Karen Hale – District 7

Al Mansell – District 9

Beverly Evans – District 26

Tom Hatch – District 28

View the growing list of official candidates

UPD Candidate Tracking

Elections.utah.gov carries a wealth of information. You might want to bookmark it.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Best of luck to all the honorable candidates! And by honorable, I mean H O N O R A B L E . No stinkers!

And best of luck to the voters who have to make the call.

3/24/2006 10:24 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home

    Senate Site Feed

Home | Profiles | Archive | Links | Official Information | About | Contact | Government 2.0 Lab | Back to Top
© 2008. All rights reserved. Designed by Jeremy Wright & His Brother-In-Law